EVENTS

february

23feb5:00 pm7:00 pmDes Moines: Jennifer Harvey Book Signing

23feb5:30 pm7:00 pmIowa City: Postcards & Pale Ale February Gathering

23feb6:00 pm8:00 pmGreene County Meet & Greet with John Norris

23feb7:00 pm8:00 pmCedar Rapids: Repeal the TrumpTax Rally – Join Senator Bernie Sanders in IA

23feb7:00 pm8:30 pmIowa City: Live Podcast: Deidre DeJear

24feb8:00 am3:00 pmRock Island IL : Working People JOIN THE RALLY TO FIGHT BACK

24feb8:00 am3:00 pmDes Moines: 6th Annual LGBTQ Health & Wellness Conference

24feb8:30 am8:30 amEducation Legislative Forum in Sioux City

24feb8:30 am10:00 amFort Dodge: Eggs and Issues

24feb9:00 am1:00 pmDes Moines: Immigration 202

24feb9:30 am11:30 pmCoralville: LWVJC Legislative Forum

24feb10:00 am12:00 pmCreston - David Young Coffee

24feb10:00 am11:30 pmSioux City: Legislative Town Hall

24feb10:00 am11:30 amCalhoun County Central Committee Meeting with John Norris

24feb10:00 am11:00 amCedar Rapids Event to Support Jodi Clemens

february, 2018

23feb5:00 pm7:00 pmDes Moines: Jennifer Harvey Book Signing

23feb5:30 pm7:00 pmIowa City: Postcards & Pale Ale February Gathering

23feb6:00 pm8:00 pmGreene County Meet & Greet with John Norris

23feb7:00 pm8:00 pmCedar Rapids: Repeal the TrumpTax Rally – Join Senator Bernie Sanders in IA

23feb7:00 pm8:30 pmIowa City: Live Podcast: Deidre DeJear

24feb8:00 am3:00 pmRock Island IL : Working People JOIN THE RALLY TO FIGHT BACK

24feb8:00 am3:00 pmDes Moines: 6th Annual LGBTQ Health & Wellness Conference

24feb8:30 am8:30 amEducation Legislative Forum in Sioux City

24feb8:30 am10:00 amFort Dodge: Eggs and Issues

24feb9:00 am1:00 pmDes Moines: Immigration 202

24feb9:30 am11:30 pmCoralville: LWVJC Legislative Forum

24feb10:00 am12:00 pmCreston - David Young Coffee

24feb10:00 am11:30 pmSioux City: Legislative Town Hall

24feb10:00 am11:30 amCalhoun County Central Committee Meeting with John Norris

24feb10:00 am11:00 amCedar Rapids Event to Support Jodi Clemens

24feb10:00 am11:00 amCedar Rapids Event to Support Jodi Clemens

24feb11:00 am4:00 pmDes Moines: Feria de Recursos & Servicios

24feb12:00 pm1:00 pmNorthwest Every Iowan Tour Meet & Greet in Pocahontas with John Norris

24feb12:00 pm2:00 pmCedar Rapids: Working People's Day of Action

24feb1:00 pm5:00 pmNonviolent Activism Workshop

24feb1:00 pm4:00 pmDavenport: Iowa Nice: Effectively Combating Oppression and Discrimination

24feb1:00 pm3:00 pmCoffee with Eric Dirth

24feb1:00 pm3:00 pmFertile, Iowa: Meet and Greet with Tim Knutson

24feb1:00 pm3:00 pmSt Charles: Meet the Candidates Vicky Brenner, running for Iowa SD 13 & Ryan Marquardt, running for Iowa HD 25

24feb1:30 pm3:00 pmMeet and Greet with Janice at Main Street Sweets, West Branch

24feb2:30 pm3:30 pmNorthwest Every Iowan Tour Meet & Greet in Storm Lake with John Norris

24feb5:00 pm6:00 pmNorthwest Every Iowan Tour Meet & Greet in Spencer with John Norris

24feb5:00 pm7:00 pmAMES: Gubernatorial Candidate Forum on Justice Reform

24feb5:30 pm8:30 pmBoone County Soup Supper Fundraiser

24feb5:30 pm8:30 pmBoone County Democrat

24feb6:30 pm8:30 pmDes Moines: Here Comes the Sun House Party

24feb7:00 pm8:30 pmMeet and Greet with Megan at the Vineyard

24feb7:30 pm8:30 pmNorthwest Every Iowan Tour Meet & Greet in Spirit Lake with John Norris

25feb11:30 am1:30 pmIowa City: Brunch with Zach Wahls

25feb12:00 pm1:00 pmNorthwest Every Iowan Tour Meet & Greet in Sibley with John Norris

25feb1:30 pm4:00 pmCedar Rapids: Save the Date - Volunteer Training for Voter Outreach

25feb2:00 pm3:00 pmNorthwest Every Iowan Tour Meet & Greet in Larchwood with John Norris

25feb3:00 pm5:00 pmCoralville House Party for Zach Wahls

25feb4:00 pm5:00 pmNorthwest Every Iowan Tour Meet & Greet in Orange City with John Norris

25feb6:30 pm7:30 pmNorthwest Every Iowan Tour Meet & Greet in Cherokee with John Norris

26feb8:00 am9:00 amNorthwest Every Iowan Tour Meet & Greet in Sanborn with John Norris

26feb12:00 pm12:45 pmMMI: It should be about all the children

26feb12:00 pm1:00 pmNorthwest Every Iowan Tour Meet & Greet in Carroll with John Norris

26feb2:30 pm3:30 pmNorthwest Every Iowan Tour Meet & Greet in Audubon with John Norris

26feb5:30 pm7:00 pmOur Revolution Johnson County Monthly Meeting: Endorsements

26feb6:00 pm8:00 pmFundraiser for Marie Gleason hosted by Lisa & Jeff McCraw

26feb6:00 pm7:30 pmCedar Rapids Retirement Security Town Hall

26feb6:30 pm8:30 pmJohn Norris at Plymouth County Democrats Forum

27feb9:00 am10:00 amNorthwest Every Iowan Tour Meet & Greet in Le Mars with John Norris

27feb4:30 pm6:00 pmJohnson County: 2018 Winter Mixer

27feb5:30 pm7:00 pmDallas County Meet and Greet for Cindy Axne for Congress

27feb6:00 pm7:00 pmAmes: Coffee With Candidates: J.D. Scholten

27feb6:00 pm9:00 pmSioux City: Race, Privilege and Our Community

27feb6:30 pm8:30 pmNW Iowa Sierra Club - Gubernatorial Environmental Forum

27feb6:30 pm8:30 pmJohn Norris at Northwest Iowa Sierra Club Gubernatorial Forum with John Norris

27feb7:00 pm9:00 pmMuscatine: Buxton, Iowa: A Coal Mining Town Ahead of Its Time"

28feb8:45 am3:45 pmDes Moines: Race Workshop

28feb12:30 pm1:30 pmHealthcare in the Heartland - Webster County

28feb5:00 pm7:00 pmJackie Smith Campaign Kick Off

28feb6:00 pm7:15 pmOttumwa Retirement Security Town Hall

We intend to list every progressive event in the state of Iowa.  If you do not see your progressive events listed, please contact us and we will post it and/or teach you how to use social media to promote your activities: es@activateiowa.org 

ISSUE OF THE WEEK

GOP "tax reform bill" now SF2383

ABOUT

The IA Senate GOP "tax reform bill" SSB3187 which passed out from Ways & Means Committee this afternoon is now SF2383.

The proposed tax bill is another proposal straight from the Koch brothers and ALEC.  The measure calls for tax cuts, most of which benefit wealthier taxpayers, and undercuts the funding base for social services, health care, and schools.  Tax cuts are reckless on the heels of deep budget cuts that already leave state services underfunded, and Iowa would likely follow Kansas into an economic downturn as a result.

SF2383 could be debated on the Senate floor as early as Monday afternoon. Please use SF2383 as your reference when contacting senators to protest and/or express concerns.

_____________

More Information:

Cliff ahead: Learn from Kansas  ~Iowa Policy Project

Iowa Senate GOP Fast-Tracks Bill With $1B in Annual Tax Cuts ~US News & World Report

Iowa Senate GOP fast-tracking $1 billion tax cut bill as Democrats protest ~Des Moines Register

IOWA SUBSIDIZING HUGE STATE COMPANIES WITH RUNAWAY TAX CREDITS ~Iowa Starting Line

TAKE ACTION:

ATTEND A FORUM and talk about SF2383

CONTACT THESE LEGISLATORS: I suggest individualizing your contacts rather than send the same canned wording to everyone. Here's an email list:

 

NO PARTY (INDEPENDENT):

David Johnson david.johnson@legis.iowa.gov

29 REPUBLICAN SENATORS:

Jerry Behn jerry.behn@legis.iowa.gov
Rick Bertrand rick.bertrand@legis.iowa.gov
Michael Breitbach michael.breitbach@legis.iowa.gov
Waylon Brown waylon.brown@legis.iowa.gov
Jim Carlin jim.carlin@legis.iowa.gov
Jake Chapman jake.chapman@legis.iowa.gov
Mark Chelgren mark.chelgren@legis.iowa.gov
Mark Costello mark.costello@legis.iowa.gov
Dan Dawson: dan.dawson@legis.iowa.gov
Bill Dix   bill.dix@legis.iowa.gov
Jeff Edle:   jeff.edler@legis.iowa.gov
Randy Feenstra:  randy.feenstra@legis.iowa.gov
Julian B. Garrett:  julian.garrett@legis.iowa.gov
Thomas A. Greene: tom.greene@legis.iowa.gov
Dennis Guth: dennis.guth@legis.iowa.gov
Craig Johnson: craig.johnson@legis.iowa.gov
Tim L. Kapucian: tim.kapucian@legis.iowa.gov
Tim Kraayenbrink: tim.kraayenbrink@legis.iowa.gov
Mark S. Lofgren: mark.lofgren@legis.iowa.gov
Ken Rozenboom: ken.rozenboom@legis.iowa.gov
Charles Schneider: charles.schneider@legis.iowa.gov
Jason Schultz: jason.schultz@legis.iowa.gov
Mark Segebart: mark.segebart@legis.iowa.gov
Tom Shipley: tom.shipley@legis.iowa.gov
Amy Sinclair: amy.sinclair@legis.iowa.gov
Roby Smith: roby.smith@legis.iowa.gov
Jack Whitver: jack.whitver@legis.iowa.gov
Brad Zaun: brad.zaun@legis.iowa.gov
Dan Zumbach: dan.zumbach@legis.iowa.gov

 A GOOD BILL TO SUPPORT

FUND THE LEOPOLD CENTER

HF 2241


ABOUT:

A year after the influential center for sustainable agriculture research was defunded, farmers and students are urging Iowa’s legislators to reinstate its budget.

MORE INFORMATION:

Supporters to Gather Tuesday Morning to Call for Re-Funded Leopold Center

Can the Leopold Center be Saved?

Opportunity to rebuild Leopold

Ames legislator proposes bill to fund Leopold Center

Beth Wessel-Kroeschell Has Introduced a Bill to Re-Fund the Leopold Center for Sustainable Agriculture

UPDATE 2-15-18

This is a budget bill so it is not subject to the funnel. Republicans will need serious pressure for this bill to move. Please contact your representatives now!

TAKE ACTION

GO TO OUR STATEHOUSE HUB – ISSUES, UPDATES, ACTIONS

NATIONAL ISSUES

WHAT IS ACTIVATE IOWA?

We provide information so you can make progress happen.

Our mission is to provide an information infrastructure for progressive organizations, campaigns, and activists in Iowa. We maintain a comprehensive list of progressive events in Iowa.  We have the only published list of progressive organizations for Iowa. We keep track of who is running for the Iowa House and Senate. On our statehouse hub page we track legislation in the Iowa legislature–and we have a double-checked list of lowa legislative forums. We do all this in three venues: this website, Facebook, and Twitter.

We are not an activist group like Indivisible or CCI.  Our aim is to be a progressive information clearinghouse–a source of reliable, up-to-date information that activists can use to inform their actions.

WHO’S RUNNING?

CANDIDATE SPOTLIGHT

Vicky Brenner for Senate in District 13

Vicky Brenner is a retired school teacher, and a tireless activist, in Madison (Winterset) and Warren Counties, but also in the surrounding area and Des Moines.   She follows events in the Iowa Legislature closely and advocates for public schools,...

X
X